NEW TIME! Webinar: SEPTEMBER 23, 12pm PT / 3pm ET

What We’ve Learned About Kids Podcasting with Brains On

Join the creators of the award-winning Brains On! as they share what they have learned about making podcasts for kids and families over the last 10 years, including research from the Minnesota Science Museum. This webinar is free.
Write your awesome label here.

About this webinar

  • September 23
  • 12pm PT / 2pm CT / 3pm ET
  • 90 min
  • Free
The creators of Brains On! and Smash Boom Best have spent nearly a decade making kids podcasts, and they’ve learned a few tricks along the way. Now they want to share what they have found to work for this burgeoning subgenre. The Minnesota Science Museum will also be on hand to help explore what the Brains On! team has learned about the listening habits of kids and families, through their National Science Foundation studies.
Brains On! is an award-winning audio show for kids and families from American Public Media. Each week, a different kid co-host joins Molly Bloom to find answers to fascinating questions about the world. 

Brains On! is featured on NPR, Minnesota Public Radio, and wherever great podcasts are found.

meet the presenterS

The Brains On! Team: 

Molly Bloom
Sanden Totten
Marc Sanchez &
Menaka Wilhelm

When Molly Bloom was in college, she hosted a radio show for kids. She graduated and started a career in public radio, but the idea of making something for young listeners never really left her head. Later, she asked her Minnesota Public Radio colleagues, Sanden Totten and Marc Sanchez, if they wanted to try making a podcast just for kids. Why not?!? It took about a year for the first episode to come out, but they did it. Soon after, kids started writing in, then parents began telling each other about this fun, educational, SCREEN FREE podcast. The momentum eventually landed the trio full-time jobs producing the show. And then bam! Seemingly out of nowhere, but actually out of UC Berkeley, Menaka Wilhelm showed up. An actual scientist with a passion for science communication. Now, there’s a small but mighty team that has enabled the show to grow beyond the science podcast. Spinoffs, Smash Boom Best and Forever Ago are all part of the ever-growing list of shows that are helping to shape the landscape of kids podcasting.